Replying, retweeting and favouriting let you interact with other people on Twitter.
Most Tweets you see will have three buttons below them, allowing you to reply, retweet or like that Tweet:
You can reply to a Tweet by clicking the reply arrow icon (which looks like an arrow pointing to the left). This will open a box with the username of the person who you are replying to already filled in.
For example, if you click the reply icon on a Tweet by @NEFOAMed, the reply window would look like this:
This allows you to reply to the person who posted the Tweet. Write the rest of your Tweet and click the Tweet button to send it. The person you are replying to will be notified that you have replied to their Tweet.
If your reply starts with their username (for example @NEFOAMed as in the picture above) then your Tweet will be visible to you, the person you are replying to, and anyone who follows both of you on Twitter.
If you want your reply to be visible to everyone who views your timeline (for example, if you are adding information to what has been Tweeted) then add a space or a full stop before the original person’s username:
If somebody replies to a Tweet you posted, you will receive an email (unless you have disabled them) and you will see a notification in the Notifications tab on your profile page. You can then reply to their reply, and so on, to have a conversation with that person.
Retweeting allows you to share a Tweet from someone that you follow on your own timeline. This means that people who follow you, but not the original user, can see the Tweet.
When you click on the retweet icon on a Tweet on your Twitter timeline, you will see a “Retweet this to your followers” box. If you want to add a comment to your retweet, you can do this in the “Add a comment…” box. Click the Retweet button to share the Tweet.
The number next to the retweet icon under a Tweet shows how many times that Tweet has been retweeted.
If somebody retweets one of your Tweets you will receive an email (unless you have disabled them) and you will see a notification in the Notifications tab on your profile page.
You can like a Tweet by clicking on the like icon.
You can see the Tweets that you have liked on your Twitter profile, by clicking your username on your timeline page, and then choosing Likes:
When you favourite a Tweet, the person who posted it receives a notification. If somebody favourites one of your Tweets, you will receive an email (unless you have disabled them) and you will see a notification in the Notifications tab on your profile page .